Personal: things I love about Switzerland (and a few that I still love about Belgium)

Klik hier voor de Nederlandse versie.

5 things I love about Switzerland

1. The beauty of the environment. We live near the mountains and next to the water, so we have the best of both worlds. I love the Alps and Lake Geneva is really beautiful. This is what we see from our balcony. Talk about a view!

Personal (5 things I love about Switzerland and Belgium) (6)

Click to enlarge

Personal (5 things I love about Switzerland and Belgium) (1)

Click to enlarge

2. The international atmosphere. A lot of people that live in Switzerland are foreigners and all our new friends come from literally all over the world. That diversity is really cool and it is just really fun to be amongst so many different kinds of people. You never run out of things to talk about, that’s for sure.

3. Being in this adventure with my boyfriend. Tom and I have been together for over ten years now and we always talked about moving abroad. No one ever seemed to take it all that seriously, but we always knew that we would eventually make it happen. Actually doing it now feels amazing. It’s just the two of us here and we have no one else to rely on. That creates a unique bond.

Personal (5 things I love about Switzerland and Belgium) (5)

4. A pretty random one, but one that I like nonetheless: water is included in the rent here. You pay a fixed amount of charges per month and it doesn’t matter if you use gallons of water or no water at all. In Belgium I paid attention to how much water we used and I always made sure that I didn’t shower for more than 10 minutes for example. But here I can take all the time I want for a steamy hot shower. And I don’t pay a cent extra for it. Gotta love that!

5. Everything is a discovery. From trying out new foods in the supermarket to exploring the city of Lausanne, everything is new and exciting. It kind of feels like being on holiday, but more adventurous. We are tourists in our own country, and it’s so much fun to discover all these new things and places.

5 things I love (and miss) about Belgium

1. My mom and dad. As cold as it may sound, I don’t really miss anything or anyone up to the point where it makes me feel really homesick. Except for my mom and dad. Those are the two people that I really miss a lot. I can’t wait until they come over for a visit! Love you mommy and daddy <3

Personal (5 things I love about Switzerland and Belgium) (4)

The best mom and dad in the world

2. Bread. I love eating bread, but the bread here is different than the bread in Belgium. The bakeries here are all very fancy and do all these kinds of specialized breads. But all I really want is the plain normal bread I used to have in Belgium. Go away already with your crazy hazelnut & raisin embedded farmer’s bread and just bake me some rye bread, dammit! ;-)

Personal (5 things I love about Switzerland and Belgium) (3)

At Pâtisserie Vincent in Lutry

3. How cheap everything is in Belgium. Seriously, I have really learned to appreciate the Belgian prices now that I live in Switzerland. The cost of living is enormous and everything is really expensive. To give you an idea: I used to pay 625 euros a month for my apartment in Belgium. Here, we pay three times that price. Another example: doing groceries is about 50% more expensive here. And my health insurance sets me back almost 280 CHF a month. Yes, per month! I think that living on a budget just doesn’t exist in Switzerland.

4. Belgian chocolate. Swiss chocolate is alright, but nothing compares to real Belgian chocolate. I really crave a box of Belgian chocolates sometimes. My all-time nomnomnom favorites: Guylian sea shell chocolates, Côte d’Or Oraia and Jacques dark chocolate bars. Hmm!

Personal (5 things I love about Switzerland and Belgium) (2)

5. The range and availability of cosmetics. Switzerland seems to lag behind a bit on the newest beauty hypes and I can’t find all of my favorite brands here. Also, cosmetics in Switzerland are (just like anything else here) very expensive. In Belgium most beauty and skin care products cost about 50% less and the range of brands and products is a lot bigger and more available, either in stores and online. I am definitely going to go on a crazy (beauty) shopping spree when I visit Belgium again!

So in short there are lots of things I love about Switzerland and I really like living here. Belgium is still my home country, though, and there are some things about it that I miss. But Tom and I both feel very at home here in Switzerland, and we don’t plan on going anywhere anytime soon :-)

So tell me, would you like to move abroad? What are the things you really love about your country?

97 thoughts on “Personal: things I love about Switzerland (and a few that I still love about Belgium)

  1. I can really relate a lot with this post in many things. It is really nice that you sure this new “adventure” with your boyfriend, it is much more difficult to go through it alone. But still Switzerland is really beautiful to live in

  2. Wow, niet gedacht dat het zo duur was in Zwitserland. Ben er wel eens op skivakantie geweest en toen was alles ook ferm duur, maarja dat is zo in alle winteroorden hé. Ik zou dolgraag in Spanje (Barcelona) of Portugal (Lisboa) gaan wonen. Love the culture over there. Jammer genoeg zit het niet echt snor met hun economie…

    • Mja, het is echt wennen aan de prijzen hoor :-) Vorig weekend een dagje gaan skiën en dat heeft ons ongeveer 250 euro gekost.

      Ik ben nog nooit in Barcelona of Lissabon geweest, maar het lijkt me heel mooi daar!

I love your comments! (spam and site links will be removed)

